Four new board members including a new chair have been appointed to LaunchVic, further boosting the State’s thriving startup sector.

Leigh Jasper, Ilona Charles, Teresa Engelhard and Aneetha de Silva have been appointed to the LaunchVic board for a term of three years.

Meanwhile, Constantine Frantzeskos and Catriona Larritt have been reappointed to the board.

New chair Leigh Jasper brings a wealth of entrepreneurial, management, venture capital and board-level experience to the position.

Mr Jasper is the co-founder and former chief executive of Victorian startup success Aconex Limited, and a director of the Macfarlane Burnet Institute for Medical Research and Public Health, Salta Properties, Buildxact and Seek.

Victoria has a strong startup ecosystem and is home to ‘unicorns’ (startups valued at more than $1 billion) such as MYOB, Aconex, Seek, Real Estate Australia Group,, AirWallex, Culture Amp and Envato.