非凡成就,有目共睹

长久以来,来自世界各地的人们一直将墨尔本视为机遇之城,而且幸运地在这里取得了成功。在政府的大力支持下,墨尔本借助大量外国投资繁荣发展。

墨尔本的产业发展历程

多元化的经济

今天

墨尔本的历史彰显了这座城市如何发展成为一个真正的多元化经济体。墨尔本吸引了来自全球各地的投资,涵盖诸多行业,包括信息与通信技术专业与金融服务、先进制造与食品加工生物科技以及清洁能源技术。我们最近又迎来了新伙伴:Square阿里巴巴Nutribiotech、Judo Capital、Canopy Growth、Live Tiles和京东

知识城市

21世纪初

21世纪初,墨尔本高等教育行业获得了大量投资,提升了这座城市的人才培养能力,我们的人才数量和质量现已蜚声世界。这同时也促进了教育产业的蓬勃发展。

正是在这一时期,墨尔本大学和蒙纳士大学等各大高校树立起作为世界名校的卓著声誉。如今亚洲乃至世界各地成千上万的学生们都慕名而来。

Read more: Highly skilled talent >>

服务业与先进制造业

20世纪90年代以后

为了应对日趋激烈的国际竞争和不断的技术发展,墨尔本逐渐转变为由知识驱动、以技能为基础且日渐以出口为导向的经济体。

维多利亚州在澳大利亚先进制造业中的领先地位与不断发展日趋成熟的服务业相辅相成。墨尔本也成为了一座兴旺发达的国际大都市。

Read more:  Opportunities in Professional Services

蓬勃发展的工业中心

20世纪

从20世纪中叶起,我们一直在接纳来自世界各地的投资。福特和波音等各大工业企业均在维多利亚州建立了运营业务,迄今已有80多年。埃克森美孚设在墨尔本的原油精炼厂已运营60余年,而丰田则在50多年前就开始在墨尔本制造汽车。

“神奇的墨尔本”

19世纪

墨尔本的成功故事始于十九世纪五六十年代的淘金潮。当时,墨尔本是英联邦最大的城市之一,同时也是全世界最富有的城市之一。它是一个主要港口,“神奇的墨尔本”之名流传甚广。

Proven track record

People from all over the world have long looked to Melbourne for opportunity and have been fortunate in finding it here. With strong government support, Melbourne has thrived on a high concentration of foreign investment.

MELBOURNE'S INDUSTRIAL JOURNEY

A diverse economy

Today

Melbourne’s history shows how it developed into a truly diversified economy.  Melbourne has welcomed investment from all over the globe and across many industries, including ICT, professional and financial services, advanced manufacturing and food processing, biotechnology and clean technology.  We recently welcomed: Square, Alibaba, Nutribiotech, Judo Capital, Canopy Growth, Live Tiles and JD.com.

A knowledge city 

The early 2000's

Significant investment in Melbourne's higher education during the early 2000's enhanced the city's capability for producing the quantity and quality of talent that we are now famous for. At the same time it fuelled the growth of a thriving education sector.

It was during this period that major universities such as the University of Melbourne and Monash University established their reputation for being amongst the best in the world.  They now attract thousands of students from Asia and all over the world.

Read more: Highly skilled talent >>

Services and advanced manufacturing

Post the 1990's

In response to growing international competition and technical advances, Melbourne transitioned into a knowledge driven, skills-based, and, increasingly export-oriented economy.

A growing and sophisticated services sector was complemented by Victoria's position as Australia's leader in advanced manufacturing. It also became a thriving and cosmopolitan global city.

Read more:  Opportunities in Professional Services

A thriving industrial hub

The 20th century

From the mid 20th century, we welcomed investment from around the world. Major industrial companies such as Ford and Boeing established operations in Victoria, now with strong legacies of over 80 years. ExxonMobil has been refining crude oil in Melbourne for over 60 years and Toyota began manufacturing vehicles in Melbourne more than 50 years ago.

'Marvelous Melbourne'

The 19th Century

Melbourne’s success story began a with the gold rush of the 1850's and 1860's, when it was one of the largest cities in the British Empire and one of the wealthiest in the world.  It was a major port and was popularly referred to as 'Marvellous Melbourne'.