云技术

墨尔本拥有敢于尝新、以科技卓越为荣以及创新的文化。强悍的本土研究实力、慷慨的政府支持和澳大利亚规模最大的信息通信技术劳动力,为墨尔本的云及SAAS枢纽源源不断提供"氧气",而"完美"的基础设施使墨尔本经常被选为全球最宜居城市。 1

亚太地区最大的云枢纽

墨尔本的云枢纽规模位居亚太第一。在云及SAAS领域的投资者看来,墨尔本的敢于尝新文化、企业联谊的便利性、技术深度和慷慨的研发资金支持共同创造了云/SAAS活动和专长的群聚效应。墨尔本的云技术企业和上市科技公司数量超过澳大利亚其他任何城市。

精通技术、人才济济且成熟的城市

墨尔本的信息通信技术行业拥有高素质的劳动力,澳大利亚最强大的人才供应渠道不断更新其技能水平。墨尔本的信息通信技术学生和毕业生人数超过其他任何城市。超过三分之一的信息通信技术硕士研究生来自维多利亚州众多世界级的大学之一。2

IBM工厂选址国际研究所毕马威将墨尔本列为技能水平"非常高"的优质之地。在更广泛的范围中,全球人才指数将澳大利亚排在亚太区并列第一的位置。3

商业环境和基础设施建设优势

墨尔本的云及SAAS信息通信技术企业的商业环境可被形容为极具成本竞争力、竞争环境公平,预期会有稳定的增长。墨尔本实行澳大利亚严格的知识产权法律,被评为全世界最全面的知识产权法律体系之一。

80%的澳大利亚人口使用云服务,同时有接近90%的大型企业使用云服务。据预测,与云相关的工作岗位数量到2015年将实现近130%的增长。4 该州的云就绪状态在亚太地区名列第三,而澳大利亚的云计划数量在亚太地区独占鳌头。5

除了积极参与和具有前瞻性眼光的政府,全球最大的宽带系统(尚未完工)和多个位居世界前列的信息通信技术研究机构为该行业提供了支撑。

极具吸引力的研发税收减免和政府扶持

依托具有成本竞争力的商业环境和澳大利亚最低的企业税率之一,维多利亚州政府大力支持和扶持云和SAAS投资者。借此,墨尔本成为南半球最大的研发集群之一——毕马威评价称墨尔本拥有亚太地区最具吸引力的研发区位成本。6

墨尔本在高水平科技相关研发领域的投入高于澳大利亚其他任何城市,而且这一投入仍在不断增长。7 慷慨的研发税收减免政策使研发活动的税负比美国低大约90%。8

墨尔本还为云/SAAS提供以下区位优势

  • 墨尔本拥有世界一流的大学研究机构,以及由本土应用程序开发商、集成商、主要基础设施提供商和众多领先的云领域跨国企业组成的强大集群
  • 维多利亚州拥有优势和实力均相当可观的科技集群,其中包括电子保健、在线学习、电子安保以及游戏和动画。

近期行业投资

  • 澳大利亚最大的电信企业Telstra在墨尔本克莱顿设立了耗资1亿美元的云中心(2014年)
  • Telstra计划投资8亿澳元,开展一项云基础设施开发项目(2011-2016年)
  • 墨尔本大学建立了面向澳大利亚研究者的全国性NeCTAR云项目,堪称世界首创。

促进协作和知识交流的云和SAAS集群

部分本土(及国际知名)云/SAAS企业

来源:
1. Economist Intelligence Unit, Global Liveability Report, 2014
2. Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIICCSRTE), 2012 Award Course Completions
3. Economist Intelligence Unit , Heidrick & Struggles Global Talent Index, Outlook to 2015
4. Cloud fact sheet
5. Ibid
6. Competitive Alternatives KPMG's Guide to International Business Location Costs, 2014 Edition
7. Most recent available from ABS as at 25.07.2014
8. Competitive Alternatives KPMG's Guide to International Business Location Costs, 2014 Edition

Cloud technology

Melbourne has a culture of early adoption, pride in technical excellence and innovation. Strong local research, generous government support and the country's largest ICT workforce provide the oxygen for Melbourne's cloud and SAAS hub in what is regularly chosen as the world's most liveable city, with 'perfect' infrastructure.1

The largest cloud hub in the Asia-Pacific

Melbourne's cloud hub is the largest in the Asia-Pacific. Investors in cloud and SAAS  find Melbourne's early adoption culture, ease of business networking, technical depth, and generous funding for R&D all work together to create a critical mass of cloud/SAAS activity and expertise. Melbourne has more cloud-specific companies and listed technology companies than any other Australian city.

A tech savvy, talented and sophisticated city

Melbourne's ICT sector is a highly talented workforce with its skills refreshed by the country's strongest talent pipeline. Melbourne has more ICT students and graduates than any other city. Over a third of all ICT masters graduates are from one of Victoria's many world-class universities.2 IBM Plant Location international and KPMG benchmark Melbourne as a 'very high' quality location for skills. In the wider context, the global talent index ranks Australia equal first in the Asia-Pacific region.3

Business environment and infrastructure building in strength

Melbourne's business environment for cloud SAAS ICT firms can be described as cost competitive, a level playing field, with steady growth predicted. It shares the country's tough intellectual property laws, ranked as the most comprehensive in the world.

80 per cent of the Australian population use cloud services, while nearly 90 per cent of large enterprises use cloud services. The number of cloud related jobs is predicted to grow by nearly 130 per cent through to 2015.4 The state ranks as third in the Asia Pacific for cloud readiness, while Australia leads the Asia Pacific for the number of cloud initiatives.5

The world's largest broadband system (under completion) and several world-class ICT research institutes support the sector, as does an actively involved and forward thinking government.

Exceptional R&D tax concessions and government support

The Victorian Government strongly supports and fosters cloud and SAAS investors alike in a cost-competitive business environment with one of the lowest rates of business tax of any Australian state. As a result Melbourne is one of the largest R&D clusters in the southern hemisphere - KPMG ranks Melbourne as having the most attractive R&D location costs in the Asia Pacific.6

Melbourne spends more than any other Australian city on high-level technology related R&D and this spend is still growing.7 Generous R&D tax breaks make the tax burden for R&D activities around 90 per cent lower than in the US. 8

Melbourne also offers these location advantages for cloud/SAAS

  • Melbourne offers world-class university research institutes, a strong cluster of local applications developers, integrators, key infrastructure providers and many leading international players in the cloud space
  • Victoria has technology clusters of noteworthy strength and capability. These include eHealth, eLearning, eSecurity, and games and animation.

Recent sector investments

  • Telstra, Australia's largest telco, opened a new A$100 million cloud centre in Clayton, Melbourne (2014)
  • Telstra is spending A$800 million on a cloud infrastructure development program (2011-16)
  • Box Hill TAFE establishes a centre of excellence in cloud computing, the VMware Academy (2013)
  • The University of Melbourne establishes the NeCTAR project, a national cloud for Australian researchers, and probably a world first.

Cloud and SAAS clusters for collaboration and cross fertilisation

Some local (and internationally renowned) cloud/SAAS firms

Sources:
1. Economist Intelligence Unit, Global Liveability Report, 2014
2. Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIICCSRTE), 2012 Award Course Completions
3. Economist Intelligence Unit , Heidrick & Struggles Global Talent Index, Outlook to 2015
4. Cloud fact sheet
5. Ibid
6. Competitive Alternatives KPMG's Guide to International Business Location Costs, 2014 Edition
7. Most recent available from ABS as at 25.07.2014
8. Competitive Alternatives KPMG's Guide to International Business Location Costs, 2014 Edition