园艺

多样的气候和土壤出产优质的产品

维多利亚州的水果产业丰富多样,地理分布辽阔,产品种类齐全。该产业的产值达到近25亿澳元,占澳大利亚园艺出口总额的50%以上。1 据澳大利亚统计局估计,维多利亚州有近3500家从事园艺活动的企业。2

主要用于出口的各种水果

维多利亚州出产以下水果:

  • 梨果(例如苹果和梨)
  • 核果(如桃子,杏,油桃)
  • 浆果
  • 柑橘
  • 坚果
  • 葡萄酒和鲜食葡萄(包括主要出口品种,如汤姆逊无核葡萄)。

horticulture fruits 

(园艺业)注重出口,特别是鲜食葡萄、核果(包括樱桃)和柑橘产业。该产业还吸引了来自国际公司的投资,如Olam公司在维多利亚州设立了面积12000公顷的杏仁果园,并且杏仁作为出口产品的比重正日益增加。3

维多利亚州的梨果、浆果和核果主要面向国内市场,而杏仁和柑橘产业则更主要用于出口。维多利亚州占澳大利亚园艺产品出口总额约50%,2013-2014年度达到近9亿澳元,同比增长了近50%。4 坚果(新鲜水果或干果)的价值最高,其中杏仁出口额占园艺产品出口总额的40%以上。

蔬菜

按产值计算,维多利亚州是澳大利亚第二大蔬菜生产州,占澳大利亚蔬菜总产值的约四分之一。维多利亚州食用类蔬菜总产值为9.85亿澳元。5 2012-2013年度,维多利亚州有800多家企业生产食用类蔬菜。

维多利亚州是澳大利亚最大的西兰花、芦笋和蘑菇生产州。其芦笋作物产量占澳大利亚总产量的95%。维多利亚州的蔬菜产量有一半来自墨尔本区域。6

维多利亚州蔬菜产业主要由国内市场需求而非出口需求推动。维多利亚州是澳大利亚最大的蔬菜出口州,2013-2014年度占澳大利亚蔬菜出口总额的31%。7

市场准入和优质食品体系

该产业受益于可(向北半球)供应反季节食品; 毗邻亚洲,空运和海运便捷; 清洁和安全的产品,得到强有力监管框架的支持。随着种植业产地识别码的应用越来越普遍(例如对于葡萄产业),供应链追踪水平正得到显著提高。8

维多利亚州政府持续投资于世界级的监管、研发、推广服务、交通和基础设施。

政府对此行业的扶持

  • 新建的卓越园艺中心配备了最先进的设备,致力于进行与水果品质提高、更高效生产系统和病虫害防治相关的研究
  • AgriBio在拉筹伯大学创立了一家投资2.88亿澳元的生物科学研究中心(2013)
line

来源:

  1. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  2. State Government of Victoria – Dept. Environment and Primary Industries
  3.  Australian Almonds, Olam
  4. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  5. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  6. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  7.  State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  8. Dept. Environment and Primary Industries

Horticulture

Diverse climate and soils produce quality products

Victoria's fruit industries are diverse, with a wide geographical spread and product range.  The industry has a farm-gate value of nearly A$2.5 billion, and accounts for over 50 per cent of Australia's horticulture exports.1 The Australian Bureau of Statistics estimates there are nearly 3,500 businesses in Victoria involved in horticultural activities.2

A range of fruits with a strong export focus

The state produces:

  • pome fruit (e.g. apples and pears)
  • stone fruit (e.g. peaches, apricots, nectarines)
  • berry fruit
  • citrus
  • nuts
  • wine and table grapes with key export varieties, such as Thomson Seedless

horticulture fruits 

There is a strong export focus, especially in the table grape, stone fruit (including cherries), and citrus industries.   The sector also attracts investment from international companies such as Olam with 12 000 hectares of almonds in Victoria, a growing export product.3

Victoria's pome, berry and stone fruit industries predominantly sell their produce into domestic markets, while the almond and citrus industries have a much stronger export focus. Victoria accounts for about 50 per cent of Australia's horticulture exports valued at almost A$900 million in 2013-14, up nearly 50 per cent on the previous year.4 Nuts (fresh or dried) were the highest value commodity, with almonds making up over 40 per cent of the value of total horticulture exports.

Vegetables

Victoria is Australia's second largest vegetable-producing state by value, with around a quarter of the nation's total production value. The gross value of vegetable production for human consumption in Victoria was A$985 million.5 In 2012-13 there were over 800 businesses in Victoria producing vegetables for human consumption.

Victoria is Australia's largest broccoli, asparagus and mushroom producing state. It produces 95 per cent of the national asparagus crop. Half of Victoria's vegetable production occurs in the Melbourne region.6

The Victorian vegetable industry is driven primarily by domestic markets rather than exports. Victoria is the largest vegetable exporting state, contributing 31 per cent of Australia's vegetable exports value in 2013-14. 7

Access to markets and quality food systems

The industry benefits from counter seasonal (northern hemisphere) availability; closeness in proximity to Asia for air and sea freight; clean and safe produce backed by a robust regulatory framework. The increasing application of plant industry property identification codes (for example, for the grape industry) is significantly improving supply chain tracking.8

The Victorian Government continues to invest in world-class regulation, research and development, extension services, transport, and infrastructure.

Government support efforts for this sector

  • The new Horticulture Centre of Excellence with state-of-the art equipment for targeted research into improved fruit quality, more efficient production systems, and pest and disease control
  • AgriBio established a A$288 million biosciences research centre at Latrobe University (2013)
line

Sources

  1. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  2. State Government of Victoria – Dept. Environment and Primary Industries
  3.  Australian Almonds, Olam
  4. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  5. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  6. State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  7.  State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
  8. Dept. Environment and Primary Industries