食品与农业领域的研发与创新

维多利亚州是澳大利亚食品与农业综合产业创新中心,拥有供应链管理、研发能力和产业团体合作方面的竞争优势。需要建立重点研发中心的公司(或喜欢充满活力的研发环境的公司)将会发现:

  • 2013-2014年度,维多利亚州食品和纤维制品出口量占澳大利亚出口总量的29%,并继续保持澳大利亚出口的龙头地位。维多利亚州食品出口份额占澳大利亚食品出口总额的27%,纤维制品出口份额占澳大利亚纤维制品出口总额的40%。1
  • 墨尔本拥有亚太地区最具吸引力的研发区位成本。2

Wheat harvesting

大量的研究与协作

维多利亚州拥有密集的研发能力和大量高技能的博士科学家群体。他们在各个机构开展广泛协作,例如最近建立的AgriBio研究所,这是一家位于拉筹伯大学、从事农业生物科学研发的尖端研究机构,拥有400名研究人员。

维多利亚州为食品和农业综合产业研发与创新提供以下优越条件

墨尔本的农业科学与生命科学专业毕业生数量处于澳大利亚领先地位:

  • 维多利亚州的农业科学、环境科学和生命科学专业毕业生人数要超过任何其他州。3
  • 墨尔本是澳大利亚唯一一座有两所大学登上泰晤士(时代周刊?)高等教育排行榜的城市(2014-2015年)。墨尔本大学是澳大利亚排名最高的大学,其生命科学专业也是亚太地区排名最高的。4
  • 一份关于卓越研究的全国性报告(2012年由澳大利亚研究理事会编写)认为,拉筹伯大学在生物科学领域"表现出众,远超全球标准",而莫纳什大学则是"远超全球标准"。5
  • 迪肯大学莫纳什大学墨尔本大学在医学和健康科学领域均被评为"表现出色,远超全球标准"。6
  • 很多技术学院提供实地技术培训。

与该行业展开合作的科研院所包括:

line

来源:
1.  State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
2.  KPMG Competitive Alternatives 2014, Business Costs Report
3.  2013 Award Course Completions
4.  Australian Research Council, Excellence in Research Australia 2012 National Report
5. Ibid
6. Ibid

Food / Agribusiness, R&D and Innovation

Victoria is the home of food and agribusiness innovation in Australia, with competitive advantages in supply chain management, access to Research and Development (R&D) and links with industry groups. Firms who need to set up a key R&D centre (or who appreciate the benefits of working in an energetic R&D environment) will find:

  • In 2013–14, Victoria accounted for 29 per cent of Australia's total food and fibre exports and remained Australia's largest state exporter. Victoria has a 27 per cent share of Australia's total food exports and a 40 per cent share of Australia's total fibre exports.1
  • Melbourne has the most attractive location costs for R&D in the Asia Pacific.2

Wheat harvesting

Substantial research and collaboration

Victoria has a critical mass of R&D capabilities and skilled PhD scientists. They collaborate in facilities such as the recently opened AgriBio, a cutting-edge research facility for agricultural biosciences research and development at Latrobe University with 400 staff.

Victoria offers these advantages for food and agribusiness R&D and innovation

Melbourne is the leading Australian state in the supply of graduates in agricultural sciences and life sciences:

  • The state produces more graduates in agricultural science, environmental science and life science than any other state.3
  • Melbourne is the only Australian city to have two universities in the Times Higher Education Rankings (2014-15). University of Melbourne is Australia's highest ranked university, and is also the highest ranked Life Sciences University in the Asia Pacific.4
  • A national report into research excellence, produced by the Australian Research Council in 2012, recognised Latrobe University's as delivering 'outstanding performance, well above world standard' for biological sciences, and Monash University as 'well above world standard'.5
  • Many technical colleges provide technical training in the field.
  • Deakin University, Monash University, and University of Melbourne were all rated as delivering 'outstanding performance, well above world standard' for the medical and health sciences.6

Research institutes working with this sector:

line

Sources:
1.  State Government of Victoria – Department of Primary Industries: Food and Fibre Export Performance Report
2.  KPMG Competitive Alternatives 2014, Business Costs Report3.  2013 Award Course Completions
4.  Australian Research Council, Excellence in Research Australia 2012 National Report
5. Ibid
6. Ibid